Risperdal Difficulties

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Risperdal Difficulties

I am an adult with TS. As a child/adolescent, I always had spasms. For most of my adult life (18-34) I was 'normal' except for the spasms. At age 34 the spasms started to get worse and I developed vocal tics. That's when I was officially diagnosed with TS.

I'm currently on 1 mg of Risperdal per day plus Paxil for ocd. (I had ocd all my life too but never really realized it till I was diagnosed with TS). The Risperdal has worked well for about two years. But in the last six months, I've once again realized an increase in my spasms and vocal tics (trouble speaking - I know part of this is psychological. I was a teacher and vice principal at the time of diagnosis and was an ok public speaker. Now I'm get nervous when I have to speak publicly at a meeting or whatever because I 'know' I'm going to stutter and stammer. It's a 'how I see myself issue').

So the Risperdal isn't working as well anymore. Plus I've gained a lot of weight and I'm tired all the time. I'm going to see my neurologist about this and if there are any other options. I'm also going to see my psychiatrist to see if paxil could be the cause of the weight gain and tiredness.

Does anyone on the board have any experiences similar to mine and any suggestions?

Thanks,
    Jeremy

Risperdal Difficulties

Jeremy,

Welcome to the TSFC Forum! There are several discussions on peoples' experience with Risperdal (note spelling). Use the forum "search" tool and enter the search term "Risperdal" (without the quotations)

In particular have a look at this posting where you can read the manufacturer's monograph.

Information on Tourette and stutter can be found here

Based on available information, the likelihood of the somnolence and weight gain is due to the Risperdal.

What does of Paxil are you taking?
    Steve
    TouretteLinks Forum

Comment

Risperdal Difficulties

Thanks Steve. I'll check out the links.