Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ?? re: explaining rage and TS

Hi all,

I am still quite new to the tourette world, but I am NOT new to advocating for my sons. I've have been doing so pretty much since my 13 year old entered school - now maybe I know why! :lol:

Rage and tourettes - can it really be co-related? How do I explain this to teachers/councillors etc with appearing to be a parent that won't see the 'faults' in her child? Is there a good book that I can get to help them see what I am saying? I'm already on the waiting list for the book that has been written by the Canadian Tourette's Association, but is there something I can get through Chapters that would help?

I know that Andrew needs to reconize what is socially acceptable, and when he is calm, he does know. But, when he begins to "meltdown" there is absolutely no reasoning with him. He yells, he will do silly impulsive things like tear pages, or scribble on them, he will hold his breath and claim that he is trying to 'calm down'. He just appears to explode over seemingly little things, then, like a thunder storm, it just ends. THEN, he is upset at what he has done during the storm. Can this be tourette related, or more so an anger issue unto it's own?

I know this will be something I will need to ask the tourette team when I finally get into Toronto Western, but until then (about 6 mos!) I would appreciate some feed back from the real 'pros' - other parents.

Help!

Be well,
    Jori

Re: ?? re: explaining rage and TS

Originally posted by Lupie Jori
    Can this be tourette related
    Yes.

Although not everyone with Tourette's Syndrome has rage issues, this is something that's more common in people with TS. Now, I can't say for certain whether it's a characteristic of Tourette's Syndrome itself, or if it's more a part of associated disorders. Rage is a common thing in many anxiety orders, including General Anxiety Disorder and Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder.