Hi, from Ottawa

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi, from Ottawa

Just wanted to say a Hi to everyone on this board. I am new to these posts and find it interesting to be able to relate with people and help others through life with TS.

I was diagnosed with Tourettes about 5 years ago at the age of 30. Having grown up with tics and other verbal blurbs for as long as I can remember, I can relate to many post in this forum. I remember when I was young, I was only told that I was nervous, ate too much chocolate or coffee. Essentially I was told to just relax. I know well the feeling of wanting to be isolated so that nobody could see me twitch. I knew back then that I was different, but did not know what is was. I tough it was just a phase that I would grow out of. Not knowing caused me great relationship problems. I could be friends only, but not intimate because if we spent more time together, she would eventually know that I am a (Freak). I mention a Freak as this is how I saw myself not knowing what I had.

I now have a wonderful wife, a three year old boy and a daughter on the way this March. So I have much to look forward now. My three year old son is having some arm shrugging movement that I do. This is scary because he is only three. I hope he is only mimicking my movements.

I'm looking forward to get to know many of you and pass along my experience in living with Tourettes. I find in general that people who have grown up with Tourettes are people with Patience and great acceptance towards people that are different. In my opinion, people with Tourettes have great hearts. At least this is what living with Tourettes have taught us.

regards

Marc

Hi, from Ottawa

Hi Marc.... welcome to the board... although I did already say welcome in another thread of yours.... I think it's in the Adult TS section.

Comment

Hi, from Ottawa

Marc