Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: New Here... Mother of a ticking 6-yr-old

Default New Here... Mother of a ticking 6-yr-old

Hello! It's my first time on this site...

Although we have no official diagnosis, we have been pretty sure for a couple of years that our now 6-year-old daughter has TS. At age 3 she started doing a variety of both verbal and physical tics, beginning first with throat clearing and arm and neck jerking movements. Every morning would begin with a long period of throat clearing (often an hour or so), then the physical ticks would start up. Sometimes the tics would continue throughout the day, or perhaps mostly dissappear, but then at the end of the day when she was tired they would return until she fell asleep. Tics always increased with stress or fatigue.

Although the onset of these tics were concerning (frightening, to be honest -- what parent wants their kid to have to cope with being "different", on top of all the other challenges in life?) they were also very familiar to me. Both my brother and I had similar tics as children. My brother's tics (also head and neck tilting/jerking, and various verbal tics such as hissing) seemed to gradually go away over the years. Mine (mostly finger and toe "snapping", and a sort of "nasal" tic) seem to have gotten stronger over the years, although they wax and wane, and they have always been mild enough that they never particularly interfered with my life. But my daughter's tics were much stronger, much more obvious, than anything my brother or I had ever experienced.