Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Greetings everyone

Default Greetings everyone

Hey everyone, I'm new to this...I just found out about this site from a fellow co worker.. I as well have tourretes obviously..LOL I was wondering if there is anyone in here around 20 to share stories with. I also would like to here about other members cases. I was diagnosed when I was about 7 and have learned to deal with it since then. I have accepted myself for who I am and so have my friends. Just wondering if there is any new and improved medications. I wouldn't mind trying anything. Last time I was on meds was in grade 6 and it was Orap. I made the personal decision to come off of them as they were affecting my studies. I look forward to meeting everyone and interacting with you all as we all share the same uniqueness. Have a good Day.
    Steve
    Look with your heart and not with your ears and you will see someone for who they are.

Hey, good to meet you. I'm in my late 30's now, and figured out I had TS when I was in my early 20's but I've never had it 'officiallized' by a doctor and i've not taken meds for it. They have several medications that are supposed to reduce tics, I'm not sure which ones might've come along since you were on Orap and which ones were already used. ???? Tenex and Clonidine, 2 high-blood pressure meds, are often the first two tried these days.

Hi Steve!

Welcome to the TSFC Forum!

One might consider medication if their Tourette was interfering with their life or affecting their quality of life.

Medications are never 100% side effect or risk free, so with consultation with your physician you would make a benefits vs risks decision as to whether it's right for you.

What part of your Tourette do you feel requires medication?

Hi Steve, I'm glad you found us! Obviously, I am not around twenty, but rather have kids your age 8) .