Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: law school paper

Default law school paper

Hey Folks,

As a law student, I have the option of completing an academic paper on a subject of my choosing (providing I can find a faculty member to supervise).

I thought it might be fun to do something that would be of interest to the TS community (although I imagine the paper itself would be quite boring).

Anyone have some ideas on what might be a good topic? The disability tax credit discussion from another thread seemed to peek my interest.

Default law school paper

Hi Adam

I like the tax issue too. Are you in Canada?

You may like to partner with the TSFC and ask if there is something they are interested in exploring ie something they can benefit from since they have limited resources to have legal issues researched.

I look forward to what you decide to make your focus. Good luck!
    Janet, mom of 4

TSFC Homepage

"Intelligence is always increasing; accommodation allows your intelligence to do what it has always done." Cassie Green, Washington College

Default law school paper

AdamG

Being a law student, what about equal rights for education?

Recently it has been considered to place TS under Autism from what I understand. If this is the case then some children with TS could be considered unable to attend public or catholic school and would be forced to attend a special needs school. For someone with a reading level 3 years above average and math skills of a high school student, a child in elementary would flounder and retreat in a special needs school.

What do you think?

You also can consider equal rights for protection from abuse. Anxiety can be an issue like stress with a TS child and in the wrong environment it is easy the pass a child by with TS and blame them for the behavior of the care giver or parent out of frustration. Most TS children have average or above average IQ's and know what is happening to them.

I would enjoy hearing from you.
    PJK