Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Balloon Art Therapy for Tourette

Default Balloon Art Therapy for Tourette

?Red Skelton told me: ?You're going to be just like me - maybe even better,'?

That sparked his interest in balloon animals, Bartlett said.

?I started watching other clowns who made balloon animals. I started going to libraries all over to find books on it. I studied it. Now, I know balloons from head to toe.?

Making balloon figures is a kind of therapy, he said.

?When I'm working on balloons, my mind is focused,? he said. ?All my twitching, all my swearing is gone. I have to have something to do with my hands.?

Read the bittersweet story about this remarkable man with Tourette Syndrome whose life has been very difficult. Click Here for Full Story

I found that article very interesting and I can relate to it in a way, as I too notice that my tics decrease when my hands have something small to focus on. I'm glad for him that he has found something that he can do that he enjoys that also decreases his tics. I have yet to find what I can do in everyday life to decrease my tics. For awhile I was making gimp bracelets which was something simple that I could do anywhere and easily under my desk without looking during school so that it wasnt a problem with teachers. But eventually I was making them so quickly that I would make 5 or 6 a day, and I just had too many lying around the house and nothing to do with them so I had to stop. I am still looking for another little activity like that, so if anyone has any ideas let me know!
    Steph
    ~be a miracle~

Steph,

Activities that require deep focus and concentration seem to decrease tic activity as you have discovered. Most people with Tourette find intensive activities to be more relaxing than the general population.