Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Thanks Everyone!

Default Thanks Everyone!

All of your input is much appreciated! Thanks

Initially Matthew was taking 10mg of Dexedrine (Spanules) as he also has an issue with swallowing pills whole. The medication worked well in terms of helping him to improve his focus in class. I noticed a real improvement in his reading particularily. What prompted the change was a routine visit to his pediatrician during which I mentioned that he was having difficulty falling asleep and there were still some difficulties at school.
    Mid December he was switched over to Adderal XR 15mg. Matthew has always had difficulties with impusiveness and making inappropriate statements, but what I have noticed since the change is an increase in not only these two, but increased anger and mood swings. I did notice in my reading that one of the side efects of Adderal can be emotional lability.
    As a nurse I worry that sometimes I read too much into what I see, but as a Mom I know my son and so I don't really feel I am overreacting.
    His first day back at school was "great" (today) according to Matthew, but I will be speaking with his teacher tomorrow as well. So far this evening things seem to be going fairly smoothly, with only a couple of outburts.
    I will also be speaking with our pediatrician tomorrow as well. Unfortunately, his office is 2 hours way. Ah, the joys of rural living...ha ha!
    Matthew also has difficulty expressing what he is feeling, and so I found that information very helpful. I have asked him different times after he has calmed down what it is that has upset him so much, or why he is so angry...and he often will say that he doesn't know why.
    I have meant to get the book The Explosive Child and will do so this week. I am sure it will open my eyes and give me agreater understanding of what it is that goes on inside this precious little boy of mine!