Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tourettes support group...Nova Scotia???

Default Tourettes support group...Nova Scotia???

Hi My name is Trina and my 11 yr. old son has just been diagnosed with Tourettes. To say the least...even though I am a nurse I was shocked and scared. I woulld like to hear from other parents in N.S. with children with Tourettes. Please help!!

Hi Trina

I am so glad you found our forum. There are many great members who frequent this site and will share their stories and strategies for coping.

First of all be assured that your reaction is very normal to such a diagnosis... you are a Mom first so this type of news is devastating to many parents. I reacted the same way when my oldest was diagnosed. Being a nurse or a doctor or working in any field does not prepare any of us for the feelings we have when we are told our darling baby is not normal. The bravest thing you have done is log in and post your message. It often takes parents months to reach out and ask for support... Well Done!

The TSFC has many chapters throughout Canada but to date there is not yet a chapter in Halifax. There is however a strong support group there and I would suggest you contact our national office and speak to Ingrid or Rosie at this toll free number: 1-800-361-3120 and they will get you connected with a contact rep in your area.

Do you have information on TS? I had very little when we got the diagnosis and only knew what the media sensationalized and that can truly be scary because the reality is that TS is not that bad.

Here is a great link to info that can be printed and read. What questions do you find yourself asking?
    Janet, mom of 4

TSFC Homepage

"Intelligence is always increasing; accommodation allows your intelligence to do what it has always done." Cassie Green, Washington College

Hi Trina and Jeff,

Welcome to the TSFC forum and we are happy that you found us.