Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie!

Wink Newbie!

Hi, my name is Amy. I'm 20 years old, and I am a criminal justice student in university.

I was diagnosed with Tourettes on November 30, 2006. I'd been suffering from the tics since I was sixteen. I blink a lot and I often bend my head to the side. I also need to slap my hand against something from time to time. My vocal tic is a noise I make in my throat, that sounds almost like a growl. They started when I was sixteen and got progressively worse. My university arranged for me to see a neurologist, who diagnosed me, and since then my school has been great in providing me with the tools that I need to succeed academically.

I live in Ontario, Canada. Anyone else here from the great, wide North?
    In God We Trust
    Justice For All

Default Re: Newbie!

Welcome Amy!

I am so glad you are here! How lucky you are to have such a supportive school!

What kind of "tools" does the University supply to you? There are several University students here who I am sure would benefit from hearing more about how TS is affecting your studies and how you are coping with that.

I am really looking forward to your contributions!

Some stuff that my university has provided for me have been mostly aimed at helping me with my attention problems, which is due not only to my Tourettes but also to ADHD. I was given a QuickPad so that I can type my notes in class instead of having to handwrite them (a QuickPad is smaller and much more mobile than a laptop). They also gave me some programs for my computer, including Kurzweil 3000, which reads my textbooks to me, and Inspiration, which I can use for brainstorming my term papers. I've also been signed up for my school's disability forum, which allows other students with disabilities to contact each other, access support groups, look in to tutoring options, and contact disability staff if they have questions or need help.