Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone work customer service?

Default Anyone work customer service?

My day job is working customer service at a video store. This includes cash and floor service. If transactions are issue-free, usually I'm issue-free too. But there are the odd people who feel like starting arguments over return times, prices, policies or whatever, and I have to try and be a problem solver. A daunting task in itself, which can be even harder when you're trying to tame the Tourette beast at the same time.

If only people knew that in addition to trying to solve their problems, I'm also trying to hold back urges that could potentially be swears. My bosses know of my condition; I was hired through a disability program. So if they see I'm in trouble, they can be quick to step in. Still, I don't think they'd be too understanding if some foul language made its way into the conversation. Swearing tics are rare for me, but it'd still be wise to try and defend against something that could be an insta-fire.

Thankfully, swearing hasn't happened at work, but other tics have escaped my wall of protection. One time, I'm examining someone's account to try to figure out an issue. I was alone, and three people were behind me, so I was trying to be in line-killing mode, but this was a complicated issue and it was taking some time. I'm deep in concentration, and all of a sudden, the phone rings. With that, my arm jerked up and hit the underside of the keyboard of the vacant computer next to me, and I made a grunting noise. The frown I was already getting from my customer turned into a death glare pretty quickly. After putting the phone-caller on hold and re-adjusting the keyboard, I apologized and just kept going. I mentioned Tourette's, but she was just like "I don't know what that is and I don't care, I'm speaking to your boss tomorrow." Funny enough, though, none of the bosses ever mentioned it.