Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tourettes - Hereditary?

Default Tourettes - Hereditary?

All the info ive benn reading suggests that Tourettes is hereditary? Is this true? Because noone in my family has it. My son has been recently diagnosed with Tourettes, but again to my understanding he would have Tourettes+ ?!?! But I am new to the Tourettes diagnosis.

Default Re: Tourettes..............Hereditary??

Quote Originally Posted by Mamamack
    no one in my family has it
    No one that you are aware of, more than likely.

Considering that the incidence of Tourette in the general population is somewhere between 1 and 3%, the chances are that someone in your family has had some form of the disorder, though it may not have been noticed because it could have been a mild case, the person succeeded in suppressing their symptoms while in public, or their symptoms were just accepted as being "their peculiar habit" as was said in the days before Tourette awareness was more prevalent.

Tourette awareness is only a few decades old, so prior to the sixties, even may physicians were not recognizing symptoms as being Tourette.

Because of the complexity of the disorder, and the multitude of ways it might be expressed from one person to another, it is quite possible you may not easily detect symptoms among family members, especially if there has not been any diagnosis and awareness among family members.