Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Film about Tourette's Syndrome

Default Film about Tourette's Syndrome

Hello everyone!

My name is Eliza, and I am a filmmaker who is developing a documentary about Tourette's Syndrome. I know there have been a handful of documentaries, but the ones I have seen seem to mostly focus on Coprolalia, and I wanted to show a broader view.
    I grew up with Tourette's Syndrome, but as I grew into my teens most of my tics disappeared. Now, in my late 20s, I have small tic outbursts, but it is a lot more controllable than when I was younger.

The reason I am here at the forum is because I wanted to ask you all what kind of a documentary you would want to see. Do you think there are films out there that accurately portray how broad Tourette's Syndrome can be?

Films are a great vehicle for discussion and when done in a powerful way can help reshape public thought. I want to help erase the stigma. I also want to use the film as a means to encourage children who are struggling with Tourette's.

I hope to hear from you, as I would greatly value your thoughts.

Best,
    Eliza

Default Re: Film about Tourette's Syndrome

Hi Eliza,
    My introduction to the TS community was a young man named Duncan McKinlay.
    I made a film about him called "Life's a Twitch."
    You can see it here: http://www.nfb.ca/film/lifes_a_twitch/