Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Newly Diagnosed Adult

Smile Newly Diagnosed Adult

Hi everyone,

I'm 21 and from the U.S. I developed an explosion of tics a few months ago and yesterday I was officially diagnosed with Tourettes. I had tics starting in high school, but they were so mild then that they didn't cause any problems and I just thought they were part of anxiety. So I'm very new to this whole world of dealing with tics. But I've been on medication for a couple of months and I'm going to start CBIT soon. I also have ADHD, anxiety, autism, sensory processing disorder, and learning difficulties, which I've heard are pretty common comorbids?

I currently work at a farm and a daycare and am going to school part time for early childhood education with the hope of one day going into special Ed. I also love animals and I enjoy listening to books on tape doing crafts, and puzzles.

I have lots of questions and I look forward to getting to know others with TS.

Default Re: Newly Diagnosed Adult

Hello Imelda and welcome to the Forum. Thanks for joining us, and I hope you will find the information and support you might need.

I've been on medication for a couple of months and I'm going to start CBIT soon
    Is the prescribing doctor the same person who will be providing CBIT and if different are the two in contact with one another to coordinate your therapy?

What symptom(s) was the medication prescribed to treat?

We have extensive information on CBIT on our Forum here: Comprehensive Behavioral Intervention for Tics (CBIT) and would be pleased to discuss CBIT and answer any questions you might have about it.

I also have ADHD, anxiety, autism, sensory processing disorder, and learning difficulties, which I've heard are pretty common comorbids
    Yes, because it is thought related area(s) of the brain are involved that can produce the symptoms of the associated disorders. More information here: Tourette Plus: Related Conditions and Disorders